Veronica Merryfield (she/her)


Veronica identifies as intersex and transgender, long story. She transitioned in the 90s.

Veronica was born in the east end of London, grew up in Southampton, did her electrical and electronic engineering degree in Portsmouth and then worked in Cambridge. She has travelled extensively and lived in various places around the globe and now calls Cape Breton, Novs Scotia, Canada home.  She works with a couple of tech startups in Cape Breton and teaches part time at Dalhousie, Halifax. 

Veronica is on the boards  of Transition House, the Every Woman's Center, Cape Breton Center for Sexual Health and the Marion Bridge Community Hall and sits on two CBRM committees, the diversity and inclusion committee and the access and disability committee.

Veronica has setup support groups in a few places she has lived and delivered training to a number of organisations both locally and further afield - the Samaritans suidcide hotline in the UK,  staff of Transition House, Cape Breton Partnership, GSA conferences with with schools and the Youth Project, GSA in Michigan, CBU Nurses program, the Elizabeth Fry society, Marine Atlantic and more.

She campaigned for a change in the NS Family Services Act which took efffect October 27th, 2020 to better support LGBT+ children in difficult home environments.

Veronica dabbles in instrument making, speaks on the subject, plays bass guitar  and keyboards, has been known to design build and fly radio control gliders, is a writer, photographer and partial to a decent cup of tea.

Sefin Stefura (he/him, they/them)

Sefin is transmasculine and came out in 2014; his pronouns are he/him and they/them interchangeably.

Sefin grew up and still lives in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. He has a passion for helping the 2SLGBTQ+ community, and he hopes to be a positive role model for those that are struggling. He has been working with queer organizations since 2017, which involved giving presentations to thousands of people across Nova Scotia in the past several years.

Sefin is currently in year 3 of obtaining his Bachelor of Arts/Community Studies degree, which he intends to use to pursue a degree in social work.

In his free time, he can be found working on his queer novel, Final Encore, and hanging out with his long-distance boyfriend. He also has a healthy obsession with his cat named Prince, is a proud new uncle, and is overall more like an easily excited puppy than a boy.